Greek and Roman Studies

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (2 vols.)
Call Number:   N5610 .G76 2007  |  Location

Brill's New Pauly - major encyclopedia for the classical world

Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome  -  Location

Oxford Encyclopedia of  Ancient Greece and Rome (7 vols.) -  Location

Oxford Art Online -  major art encyclopedias - 100s of results on Roman Architecture

See also Background Sources for Ancient Greece and Rome

Handbook of Roman Art: a comprehensive survey of all the arts of the Roman world
Call Number: N5760 H36 1983   | Location

Use the Library Search Box to locate books and articles on  Art and Architecture in ancient Rome.  (While ebrary books (over 30,000 digitial works) are retrieved in this search it is also helpful to separately search ebrary )

Other useful sources for identifying books and articles on this topic:

• L'Annee Philologique - articles on all aspects of the Greek and Roman world
• Art Abstracts
  
• Avery Index to Architectural  Periodicals
• Bibliography of the History of Art  -  best index of the four for material on Roman Architecture
• Good  full-text journal databases that include a fair amount of material on the Roman World:
               
  
  
• Google Scholar

- major collection of  high -resolution digital images of art, architecture and culture with educational use permissions

Perseus Digital Library - collection includes a large number of  images   

Use the Library search box  to locate specific texts held by the library.  (Hint:  Search "author: Vitruvius" to limit to works by the author).

We also have full sets in print  of key collections such as Loeb Classical Library.  (note free digital copies of some  of the out-of-print Loeb texts are available) and  Collections des universites de France (Bude) which  provides French translation of classical texts.  

Perseus Digital Library - collection of  Greek and Latin  texts (many with English translation)  and a large number of  images 

Note Interlibrary loan service is available   to obtain a copy of books and articles the library does not have in its collection. This service is provided  at no charge for  U of C students, faculty and staff