Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Greek and Roman Studies

Background Information

 

You can also search your topic in the Library Search Box and limit your results to  Item Type "Reference Entry" to quick locate encyclopedias containing entries on your topic.  Databases of Reference works such as Credo Reference can be very helpful in locating background articles on your topic.

 

Major Tools:

Brill's New Pauly  -  15 volumes plus supplements .  Note we also hold  the German version Ner Neue Pauly.   Selected volumes of the  original German version -  Pauly-Wissowa Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft  are available free online.  Complete list of volumes with links to available fulltext.   The University of Calgary Library has a complete copy of the print version of  the  first German edition

Cambridge Ancient History  (14 volumes)

Cambridge History of Classical Literature   -  v.1 Greek  v.2 Latin

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome - 3 vols.

Oxford Classical Dictionary  -  search all of the Classical resources in Oxford Reference

 

Other Useful Dictionaries/Encyclopedias:

Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome     

Database of Latin Dictionaries -   Includes dictionaries from Antiquity (Forcellini, Lewis and Short, Gaffiot), Patristic Period (Blaise, Souter), Middle Ages (Blaise, Du Cange etc) and Medieval Dictionaries (Firminus Verris, Anon. Montepessul., Nebrija, Le Talleur)

De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Rulers and Their Families

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography

Encyclopedia of Ancient History - 12 volumes - location

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Roman Law

Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World - 4 volumes - location

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome  -  7 volumes - location

Thesaurus cultus et rituum antiquorum - 8 volumes - location
-  Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman rituals

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae  - Location -   covers  the Latin texts from the classical period to the 7th century A.D.

Database of Latin Dictionaries -   Includes dictionaries from Antiquity (Forcellini, Lewis and Short, Gaffiot), Patristic Period (BlaiseSouter), Middle Ages (Blaise, Du Cange etc) and Medieval Dictionaries  (Firminus Verris, Anon. Montepessul., Nebrija, Le Talleur)

Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources   -  important national dictionary for medieval Latin

Latin Place Names  -  database of Latin place names linked to their vernacular name

LBG (Lexicon  zur byzantinischen Gräzität) 

"The LBG is the foremost lexicographical resource in Byzantine Studies mainly covering the period from the 4th to the 15th century A.D. taken from more than 3,000 texts. Seven fascicles have appeared to date, with one more scheduled to appear in 2016. When completed the dictionary will consist of more than 2,000 printed pages, containing approx. 80,000 lemmata."

LSJ: The Onine Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon

Vergil l Aeneid Vocabulary
- Can search in Latin and English and display word frequency