Greek and Roman Studies
Finding Articles for Greek and Roman Studies
Key databases for locating journal articles in the area of Greek and Roman Studies are:
- L'Annee Philogique
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine
- IsisCBExplore - Extensive index to works on the History of Science
- JSTOR HINT: Go to Advanced Search and limit results to Classical Studies
- Project Muse
Other useful free resources include:
- BASE (Bielefield Academic Search Engine)
- Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank - indexes books and journals in ancient history, archaeology and philology
- Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago - Can search their catalogue - indexes articles as well as books
- Nestor - bibliography of "Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields"
- Regesta Imperii - catalogue of works on medieval studies (art, music, religion, philosophy, archaeology, linguistics and literature from late antiquity up to the Reformation.
- Social Sciences Research Network - fulltext access to almost 800,000 papers including almost 1,000 for Classics
- TOC-IN - can search tables of content for over 180 journals of interest to Classicists
- Archaeology in Greece Online -information on latest archaeological discoveries in Greece and Cyprus
- ADS (Archaeology Data Service) Library - "The ADS Library brings together material from the British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (BIAB), the ADS library of unpublished fieldwork reports as well as documents from the ADS archives and archaeological publishers such as Oxbow."
- British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography
- Cefael : Collections de l'Ecole francaise d'Athenes en ligne - open access full text of publications of l"Ecole francaise d"Athenes including the Hellenic Correspondence Bulletin - Greek Archaeology, Culture and History
- Hellenistic Far East Bibliography - archaeology of the Hellenistic Far East
- Zenon Dai - index to publications on archaeology
- DRoits ANTiques (DRANT)- this bibliography database lists works on ancient law and related areas inlcuding numismatics archaeology and religion. Produced by the Center for the Documentation of Ancient Law this database includes over 55,000 references
- Bibliographies for Galen and Hippocates - includes information on their works and where to locate translations and commentaries
NOTE: Many of the relevant subject databases can be useful in identifying articles on your topic:
Architecture - Avery Index
Medicine - Medline
Philosophy - Philosophers' Index
Religion - ATLA Religion Database
Sports - Sport Discus
Can't find the book or article in the library collection?
Submit an interlibrary loan request. There is no charge to you for this service. Articles arrive in digital form usually within a day or so. Books can take weeks/months depending on where we need to borrow them.
- Last Updated: May 17, 2023 12:00 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/Classics
- Print Page