Greek and Roman Studies

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (2 vols.)
Call Number:   N5610 .G76 2007  |  Location

Brill's New Pauly - major encyclopedia for the classical world

Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome  -  Location

Oxford Encyclopedia of  Ancient Greece and Rome (7 vols.) -  Location

Science in the Ancient World

See also Background Sources for Ancient Greece and Rome

Use the Library Search Box to locate books and articles on  technology in the ancient world.  (While ebrary books (over 30,000 digitial works) are retrieved in this search it is also helpful to separately search ebrary )

Other useful sources for identifying books and articles on this topic:

• Agricola  - key database for agriculture - includes articles on agriculture in the ancient world such as ":Beekeeping in the World of Ancient Rome"
• L'Annee Philologique - articles on all aspects of the Greek and Roman world
• Anthropology Plus
• Avery Index to Architectural  Periodicals
• Bibliography of the History of Art  -  best index  for material on Roman Architecture
• Dyabola  (Dynamically Accumulating Database on Objects and Literature About Antiquity)
• Engineering Village
• History of Science, Technology and Medicine
• ITIA database of Ancient Greek Hydraulic Works
• IsisCBExplore -  extensive index to works on history of science
• Good  full-text journal databases that include a fair amount of material on the Roman World:
               
   
• Google Scholar

- major collection of  high -resolution digital images of art, architecture and culture with educational use permissions

Perseus Digital Library - collection includes a large number of  images   

Use the Library search box  to locate specific texts held by the library.  (Hint:  Search "author: Vitruvius" to limit to works by the author).

We also have full sets in print  of key collections such as Loeb Classical Library.  (note free digital copies of some  of the out-of-print Loeb texts are available) and  Collections des universites de France (Bude) which  provides French translation of classical texts.  

Perseus Digital Library - collection of  Greek and Latin  texts (many with English translation)  and a large number of  images 

ORBIS: The Stanford Geospacial Network Model of  the Roman World  - "By simulating movement along the principal routes of the Roman road network, the main navigable rivers, and hundreds of sea routes in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and coastal Atlantic, this interactive model reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity."

LacusCurtius- links to resources on Ancient Rome

Note Interlibrary loan service is available   to obtain a copy of books and articles the library does not have in its collection. This service is provided  at no charge for  U of C students, faculty and staff

L'Annee Philologique's listing of abbreviations

Oxford Classical Dictionary -  abbreviations list

New Pauly List of Bibliographical References

See also:

Abbreviations in Greek Literary Papyri and Ostraca - Location

Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines -  Location

International Glossary of Abbreviations for Theology and Related Subjects  - Location