Architecture & Design

Alberta Association of Architects: www.aaa.ab.ca

American Institute of Architects: www.aia.org

American Planning Association: http://www.planning.org/

American Society of Interior Designers: http://www.asid.org/

American Society of Landscape Architects: www.asla.org

Association of Architecture School Librarians: www.architecturelibrarians.org

Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture: www.acsa-arch.org

Canadian Architectural Certification Board: cacb.ca

ICOMOS Canada (Canadian National Committee of the International Council on Monuments and Sites): canada.icomos.org

National Architectural Accrediting Board (US): www.naab.org

National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB; US): www.ncarb.org

Royal Architectural Institute of Canada: www.raic.org

Royal Institute of British Architects: www.architecture.com

www.architecture.com

• RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) website
• All about architecture
• Online catalogue indexes architecture periodicals, architecture awards, and much more

Canadian Architectural Archives: Biographies

Canadian Centre for Architecture / Centre Canadien d'Architecture

Cinema Treasures

• Contains details of ~28,600 cinemas in USA, Canada an UK with 1,600 photographs
• Searchable by architect, chain, firm and location

Design Exchange

• "Canada's design museum and centre for design research and education
• It is committed to raising awareness and understanding of design in all its forms"

Design Guide

• Search for products and services in the design and construction industry.
• Premium directory lists thousands of construction materials and furnishings manufacturers, plus architects, engineers, landscape + interior design professionals.

Designinform Research Guides

1. Internet Sources of Biographical Information
2. Free-access, digitized art, architecture, design and craft journals on the Internet

Net Resources

• From Society of Architectural Historians webpage

Norbert Schoenauer Digital Case Studies Collection

• Norbert Schoenauer, 1923-2001,  was an architect, educator and planner
• Was on faculty at the McGill School of Architecture from 1960 to 2001
• Canadian

Pritzker Architecture Prize

Royal Canadian Academy of Arts / Academie Royale des Arts du Canada

• Profiles of ~700 RCA members, including those working in architecture

Archi-Seek: Online Architectural Resources—an introductory website.

Building Canada: A selection of images from the John Bland Collection of Canadian Architecture, McGill University Libraries' Special Collections

• Glossary of Canadian building terms

The Canadian Encyclopedia: See article on Architecture in Canada

University of Toronto website for slides on Canadian Architecture

Canadian Architecture online—a starting point.

Canadian Architect—Links of Historical Interest

Parks Canada—National Historic Sites

L’Anse aux Meadows national historic site.

Ontario Heritage’s buildings.

Mount Uniacke House, Nova Scotia.

Explore the Hill—Excellent virtual tours of historic Ottawa Parliament Buildings

Fort Ste Marie among the Hurons (good visuals)

Ontario Architecture Website (excellent photographs)

Museum of Civilization: Online Resources for Canadian Heritage

French Canada

Virtual Museum of New France (Museum of Civilization)

• Living in New France at the time of Champlain

Acadian site (in French) on Port Royal. (see also here for some nice personal photos of Port Royal )

Aboriginal sites

Encyclopedia of North American Indians—article on architecture

Royal British Columbia Museum