Architecture & Design
This guide is intended to help you get started with your architecture & design research.
Surveys of Type
Buildings and Power by
The material and cultural world in which we now live perhaps represents the end of a process created out of the Enlightenment and the Industrial Revolution. The battles fought over class, ideology and language are represented most clearly in the explosion of new building types during the Century of Revolutions. Lavishly illustrated with photographs, drawings, maps and plans, Buildings and Power analyses architectural form, function and space to explore the reproduction and the subversion of power in the modern city.
ISBN: 0415076641Publication Date: 1993-11-16
A History of Building Types by
Available again in paperback, this first survey of building types ever written remains an essential guide to vital and often overlooked features of the architectural and social inheritance of the West. Here Nikolaus Pevsner shares his immense erudition and keenly discerning eye with readers curious about the ways in which architecture reflects the character of society. He describes twenty types of buildings ranging from the most monumental to the least, from the most ideal to the most utilitarian. More than seven hundred illustrations illuminate the text. Both Europe and America have been covered with examples chosen largely from the nineteenth century, the crucial period for diversification. Included are national monuments, libraries, theaters, hospitals, prisons, factories, hotels, and many other public buildings; churches and private dwellings have been excluded for practical reasons. The author is concerned not only with the evolution of each type in response to social and architectural change, but also with differing attitudes toward function, materials, and style.
ISBN: 0691099049Publication Date: 1976-06-21
A History of Architecture by
When the late Spiro Kostof's A History of Architecture appeared in 1985, it was universally hailed as a masterpiece--one of the finest books on architecture ever written. The New York Times Book Review, in a front cover review, called it "a magnificent guided tour through mankind'sarchitecture," and The San Francisco Chronicle wrote that "Kostof...has enthralled a generation of students.... Now he has done the same thing for the public at large, in an extraordinary book that is a new kind of architectural history."This magisterial work has now been revised and expanded by Greg Castillo, Kostof's colleague and literary executor. Insightful, engagingly written, and graced with almost a thousand superb illustrations, the Second Edition of this classic volume offers a sweeping narrative that examinesarchitecture as it reflects the social, economic, and technological systems of human history. The scope of the book is astonishing. No mere survey of famous buildings, Kostof's History examines a surprisingly wide variety of manmade structures: prehistoric huts and the TVA, the pyramids at Giza andthe Rome railway station, the ziggurat and the department store. Indeed, Kostof considered every building worthy of attention, every structure or shelter a potential source of insight, whether it be the prehistoric hunting camps at Terra Amata, or the caves at Lascaux with their magnificentpaintings, or a twenty-story hotel on the Las Vegas strip. The Second Edition features a new concluding chapter, "Designing the Fin de Siecle," based on Kostof's last lecture notes and prepared by Castillo, as well as an all-new 16-page color section. Many of the original line drawings by RichardTobias, as well as some 50 photographs, have also been updated or replaced, for improved clarity.Visually and intellectually stimulating, this book is at once a compelling history and an indispensable reference on all aspects of our built environment. It achieves for architecture what Janson's history accomplished for visual art.
ISBN: 0195083784Publication Date: 1995-05-04
Tips on Searching for Architectural Drawings in Library Catalogue
- Searches often retrieve both architectural drawings of buildings as well as books on developing architectural drawing skills so analyze results to narrow them to meet your information needs.
- Together with more unique search terms, add the following to your search expression:
- Architectural drawing or Architectural rendering or Designs plans in the SUBJECT field or in SEARCH ALL.
- Search plans or elevations or sections in SEARCH ALL and then NARROW YOUR SEARCH to Architecture or Building Construction, etc.
- Books primarily on Architectural drawing and design are LC classed at NA2695-2793
PRE-CREATED SEARCHES:
Subject: Architectural drawing
Subject: Architectural drawing -- 19th Century
Subject: Architectural drawing -- 18th Century
SELECTED TITLES:
Teague, Edward H., 1952- World architecture index: a guide to illustrations. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1991.
-
A reference tool for finding images of approximately 7,000 architectural works reproduced in more than 100 books likely to be available in libraries with architectural collections. The index is international in coverage; includes a variety of architectural, engineering, and planning works; and covers most historical periods and styles. Citations to reproductions of exterior and interior views, plans, sections, and elevations are provided, and access is enabled by building site, architect, type of work, and name of work indexes.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1977-)
- The key architecture index
- Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture
- Limit your search to the ILLUSTRATION field using the drop-down menu next to search box.
- Then enter applicable search terms, such as aerial, axonometric, chart(s), computer, det/details, diagr/diagram(s), drawing(s), elevation(s), ill/ills/illus, isometric, map(s), model(s), plan(s), plate(s), photo(s), port(s), secn/secns/sect/sections, site, sketches, table(s), view(s).
- Truncating the root of your search term with * is highly recommended as there are multiple abbreviations for each term in this index.
Other Databases
- Cities/Buildings Database This link opens in a new window
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Web Sites
- Search "architectural archives" or "architectural drawing", etc. on Google
- Historic American Buildings Survey (US Library of Congress)
- Canadian Centre for Architecture
- University of Calgary Digital Archives (including some Canadian Architectural Archives)
- California State University WorldImages Database
- RIBAPix
- New York Public Library Digital Collections
- Europeana
- Smithsonian Institution
- Built Work Registry
- archINFORM
- SAH Archipedia
- Digital Public Library of America
- Flickr Commons
- Wikimedia Commons