Architecture & Design
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (UofC only)
Includes historical art and architecture dictionaries, including:
The builder's dictionary: or, gentleman and architect's companion. Explaining not only the terms of art in all the several parts of architecture, but also containing the theory and practice ... London : printed for A. Bettesworth and C. Hitch; and S. Austen, 1734.
Carter, John, 1748-1817. The builder's magazine: or, a universal dictionary for architects, carpenters, masons, bricklayers,& c. ... Consisting of designs in architecture, ... together with the plans and sections, ... The whole forming a complete system of architecture, ... By a Society of architects. A new edition. London : printed for E. Newbery; and sold by all other booksellers in Great Britain and Ireland, 1788.
Aheron, John. A general treatise of architecture. In five books. ... By John Aheron, architect. Dublin : printed for the author, by John Butler, 1754.
An introduction to the art of fortification. Containing draughts of all the common works used in military architecture, ... Also, a military dictionary, ... London : printed for and sold by John Brindley, 1745.
Rudiments of ancient architecture, containing an historical account of the five orders, with their proportions, and examples of each from antiques; also extracts from Vitruvius,Pliny, &c. ... With a dictionary of terms. Illustrated with eleven plates. The second edition, much enlarged. London : printed for I. and J. Taylor, 1794.
The rudiments of ancient architecture,in two parts. Containing an historical account of the five orders, with their proportions ... also Vitruvius on the temples and intercolumniations,& c.of the ancients ... With a dictionary of terms. Illustrated with ten plates. London : printed for I. & J. Taylor, at the Architectural Library, Holborn, 1789.
The rudiments of architecture: or, the young workman's instructor. In two parts. ... With twenty-four elegant designs of buildings, ... To which is added, the builder's dictionary : ... The third edition, corrected. .. Edinburgh : printed for G. Milln, Dundee, 1799.
The rudiments of architecture: or, the young workman's instructor. In two parts. ... With twenty-three elegant designs of buildings, ... To which is added, the builder's dictionary: ... The second edition, corrected. .. Edinburgh : printed for James Dickson and Charles Elliot, 1778.
- Last Updated: Sep 29, 2023 3:56 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/architecture-design
- Print Page