Architecture & Design
This guide is intended to help you get started with your architecture & design research.
Selected Online (UofC only) and Print Reference Books
Please note that any physical items located in TFDL High Density Library (HDL) will have to be requested for delivery to the main campus. For more information on how to request an item for delivery you can take a look at our borrowing services page located here.
Any books located in TFDL Reference are located on the first floor of the Taylor Family Digital Library and are available for in library use only.
The books below are organized by subject, title, and location. Feel free to click on each title to access their catalogue record in our library system.
Architecture:
Architecture - Canadian:
| Art and Architecture in Canada: A Bibliography and Guide to the Literature to 1981 V.1 -- V.2 | N6540 .L47 1991 TFDL HDL and Online |
| Bibliography of Canadian Architecture | NA 745 .S55 1992 TFDL HDL |
| Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Canada, 1800-1950 | Open Web |
| Canadian Women artists History Initiative (pre-1925) | Open Web |
| A guide to Canadian Architectural Styles. 2nd ed. | NA 740 .M35 2004 TFDL Main Collection |
Art - General:
| Biographical Dictionary of Artists |
N40 .B53 1995 TFDL HDL |
| Bloomsbury Guide to Art | Online |
| The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms | N33 .C575 2010 TFDL Reference and Online |
| Contemporary Masterworks | N6490 .6457 1991 TFDL HDL |
| Critical Terms for Art History. 2nd ed. | Online |
| Grove Art Online | Online |
| The Hutchinson Dictionary of Symbols in Art | Online |
| The Hutchinson Dictionary of the Arts. 2nd ed. | Online |
| The Oxford Companion to Western Art | N33 .O923 2001 TFDL HDL and Online |
| The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists | Online |
| The Oxford Dictionary of Art. 3rd ed. | N33 .O93 2004 TFDL HDL and Online |
| The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists. 5th ed. | Online |
| The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms. 2nd ed. | Online |
| The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists | Online |
| The Thames & Hudson Encyclopaedia of British Art | N6761 .T52 1985 TFDL HDL and Online |
By Period/Style:
| Medieval Art: A Topical Dictionary | N7850 .R67 1996 TFDL HDL |
| The Late Medieval Age of Crisis and Revival, 1300-1500: a Biographical Dictionary | CB353 .L38 2001 TFDL Main Collection |
| Encyclopaedia of the Renaissance | Online |
| Hutchinson Encyclopedia of the Renaissance | Online |
| The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of the Italian Renaissance | Online |
| The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance | CB361 .C33 2003 TFDL Reference and Online |
| Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850 V.1 -- V.2 | NX452.5 .R64 E53 2003 TFDL HDL and Online |
| The Thames & Hudson Encyclopaedia of Impressionism | ND547.5 I4 D46 1990 TFDL HDL and Online |
| A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art. 2nd ed. | N6490 .C5317 2009 TFDL Reference and Online |
By Topic:
| Art information and the Internet : how to find it, how to use it | N59 .J66 1999 TFDL HDL |
| Encyclopedia of Aesthetics V.1 -- V.5 | BH56 .E53 2014 TFDL Reference and Online |
| Encyclopedia of American Folk Art | NK805 .E64 2004 TFDL HDL and Online |
| Encyclopedia of New Media: An essential reference to communication and technology | QA76.575 .E539 2003 TFDL HDL and Online |
| Miller's Antiques Encyclopedia | Online |
| New Dictionary of the History of Ideas | CB9 .N49 2005 TFDL HDL and Online |
| The Oxford Companion to the Photograph | TR9 .O94 2005 TFDL HDL and Online |
| St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. 2nd ed. | Online |
Design:
| Contemporary Designers. 3rd ed. | NK1166 .C66 1997 TFDL HDL |
| Design Dictionary: Perspectives on Design Terminology | NK1165 .W6713 2008 TFDL HDL and Online |
| A Dictionary of Modern Design. 2nd ed. | Online |
| The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900. 2nd ed. | Online |
| The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers. 3rd ed. | Online |
Ergonomics/Human Factors:
| Berkshire Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction V.1 -- V.2 | QA76.9 .H85 B47 2004 TFDL HDL and Online |
| Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics. 5th ed. | Online |
| The Human-Computer Interaction Handbook Fundamentals, Evolving technologies, and Emerging Applications. 3rd ed. | Online |
| Human Factors and Ergonomics Design Handbook. 3rd ed. | Online |
| Human Factors in Systems Engineering | TA166 .G83 2006 TFDL Main |
| The Measure of Man and Woman: Human Factors in Design. Rev ed. | TA166 .M435 2002 TFDL Main |
Technology:
| CRC materials science and engineering handbook. 3rd ed. | TA403.4 .C73 2001 TFDL HDL |
| Dictionary of engineering materials | TA402 .K45 2004 TFDL HDL |
| Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology V.1 -- V.11 | TA402 .E525 TFDL HDL and Online |
| Encyclopedia of Production and Manufacturing Management | Online |
| Green building handbook: a guide to building products and their impact on the environment V.1 -- V.2 | TA403.6 .G73 TFDL HDL |
| Handbook of Performability Engineering | TA169 .H35 2008 TFDL HDL and Online |
| Materials handbook: a concise desktop reference | TA404.8 .C37 2008 TFDL HDL and Online |
| Springer Handbook of Acoustics (Includes architectural acoustics) | QC225.15 .S67 2007 TFDL Main and Online |
| Springer Handbook of Robotics. 2nd ed. | Online |
Urban Design:
| Cities of the United States: a compilation of current information on economic, cultural, geographic and social conditions | Online |
| Cities of the world: world regional urban development. 5th ed. | HT151 .C569 2012 TFDL Main |
| Encyclopedia of urban America: the cities and suburbs | HT123 .E53 1998 TFDL Main |
- Last Updated: Sep 20, 2024 8:26 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/architecture-design
- Print Page
Tags: architecture, design