BUSN - Business Environment
This guide provides resources on the 6 areas that constitute the business environment - economic, technological, political/legal, competitive, social-cultural and environmental.
Technological
The technological environment refers to external factors in technology that impact business operations. Changes in technology affect how a company will do business. A business may have to dramatically change their operating strategy as a result of changes in the technological environment.
Technological
Technological environment - Canada
-
Alberta Innovates - Technology FuturesHelps technical industries find solutions, develop products and move technologies to market through various programs.
-
Alberta Enterprise Corporation"An independent fund manager that encourages venture capital investment by investing in technology venture capital funds that finance early-state, knowledge-based companies."
-
Canada Digital Future in Focus (ComScore)Requires registration to download.
"Examines how the prevailing trends in general web usage and demographics, social media, online video, digital advertising, mobile and search are defining the current Canadian marketplace". -
Tech Trends (Deloitte)This annual report looks at the evolving landscape of technology in business.
-
OECD Science, Technology and Industry Outlook: CanadaReports on key trends in science, technology and innovation (STI) policies, and performance.
-
PEW Internet & American Life ProjectResearch reports on the impact of the Internet and technology on American society. Although the research is based in the US it has many applications to the Canadian technological environment. Various types of technology and demographic groups are studied. Includes reports such as: |
"The Rise of Networked Individuals and their role in the life of entrepreneurs"
-
C.D. Howe Institute"The C.D. Howe Institute is an independent not-for-profit organization that aims to raise Canadians’ living standards by fostering economically sound public policies."
Technological Environment - International
-
PEW Internet & American Life ProjectResearch reports on the impact of the Internet and technology on American society. Although the research is based in the US it has many applications to the Canadian technological environment. Various types of technology and demographic groups are studied. Includes reports such as: |
"The Rise of Networked Individuals and their role in the life of entrepreneurs" -
ComScoreComScore provides in-depth analysis of the digital world. Includes a "Data mine" that provides data and analysis at the regional and country levels as well as by topic. The site is also searchable by keyword. The reports are free, but you need to provide some information via a form in order to access them.
-
Gartner Online Information ResourcesOffers information technology-related research, news, analysis, and trends.
-
PassportOnline business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched.. AKA Passport Industrial
-
OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It includes books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases produced by the OECD and its special bodies (eg. International Energy Agency and Nuclear Energy Agency). The materials focus on economic and social issues from macroeconomics to trade, education, aging society, communication, information technologies, energy, development, science and innovation
-
OECD Science, Technology and Innovation OutlookPublished every 2 years, this report is a comprehensive review of key trends in science, technology and innovation policy in OECD countries.
-
Connectivity Scorecard (Global)A global ICT index that ranks 50 countries on their investment in ICT infrastructure and measures the extent to which connectivity is related to economic performance. Connectivity refers to "the totality of interaction between
a nation’s telecommunications infrastructure, hardware, software, networks, and users of these networks, hardware and software." (http://www.connectivityscorecard.org/images/uploads/media/TheConnectivityReport2011.pdf) -
Global Innovation IndexPublished by Cornell University, INSEAD and WIPO, the full report includes country innovation rankings, individual country innovation profiles, and data analysis and discussion.
Industry Canada
-
Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada: Science and Technology- Canada's Investment in S&T
- Canada's S&T Performance
- Canada's S&T Strategy