BUSN - Business Environment
This guide provides resources on the 6 areas that constitute the business environment - economic, technological, political/legal, competitive, social-cultural and environmental.
Social/Cultural
-
Alberta Demographics(Open Access)
Current and forecast data with analysis. -
Alberta Labour Market Information(Open Access)
-
Economy at a Glance: The Calgary Advantage (Calgary Economic Development)Information on what makes Calgary Western Canada's business centre. Includes areas where Calgary has ranked among the best, extensive demographic and economic information, lifestyle information and more.
-
Calgary Foundation Vital Signs Report(Open Access)
Provides a report card type of rating system looking at quality of life in Calgary in 15 key issue areas. -
Calgary Community Profiles (City of Calgary)(Open Access)
Profiles cover: population, mobility,age, income, employment, family composition, social isolation, education, cultural diversity, housing.
-
PassportOnline business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched. Note the consumer lifestyle reports by country.
- Centre for the Study of Living Standards
- The focus of CSLS is to "investigate trends in and determinants of productivity, living standards and economic and social well-being through research."
-
Includes "Index of Economic Well-being", labour markets, productivity, industry sectors and more.
-
How Canada Performs: A Report Card on CanadaThe Conference Board of Canada ranks Canada against 17 peer countries in terms of social performance. The analysis is based on sixteen social indicators.
-
Insights on Canadian Society (Statistics Canada)Articles cover socioeconomic issues faced by Canadians.
-
Canadian Megatrends (Statistics Canada)Statistics Canada analyzes historical data to highlight some of the sweeping changes that have had a lasting impact on Canadian society and economy.
-
Social Progress IndexThis index is produced by the Social Progress Imperative and measures social progress of 133 countries. Social Progress is defined by 3 dimensions: Basic human needs; Foundations of wellbeing and Opportunity. Each dimension measures numerous criteria. Click "By country" to select a country and view its social progress. "Methodology"
-
Open Data Canada(Open Access)
Search the Government of Canada's open government portal. -
Indicators of Well-Being in Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada)(Open Access)
"Gathers data from different sources and presents a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the well-being of Canadians and Canadian society." Covers: work, learning, financial security, family life, housing, social participation, leisure, health, security and environment. - Conference Board of Canada
- Includes access to research reports, case studies, detailed findings, periodicals, conference presentations and other publications researched and published by the Conference Board of Canada. Also includes the following newsletters: Canadian month at a glance; U.S. month at a glance; and InsideEdge.
-
Google Public Data ExplorerGlobal and U.S. datasets covering economic indicators, demographic, labour, health, education statistics and more. Create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in webpages.
-
United Nations Social IndicatorsGlobal indicators provided for the following: Population, health, housing, education and work.
-
Social Progress IndexThis index is produced by the Social Progress Imperative and measures social progress of 133 countries. Social Progress is defined by 3 dimensions: Basic human needs; Foundations of wellbeing and Opportunity. Each dimension measures numerous criteria. Click "By country" to select a country and view its social progress. "Methodology"
-
FedStats(Open Access)
Provides access to a full range of statistical information produced by the US government. Browse for statistical information by topic, obtain profiles of geographical areas, find data compiled by federal agencies etc. -
CIA World FactbookSelect a country to access a detailed profile of the country including a section on "People and Society".
-
PassportOnline business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched. Note the consumer lifestyle reports by country.
-
OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It includes books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases produced by the OECD and its special bodies (eg. International Energy Agency and Nuclear Energy Agency). The materials focus on economic and social issues from macroeconomics to trade, education, aging society, communication, information technologies, energy, development, science and innovation.
-
IBISWorldClick "Industry Risk Ratings" in the upper right corner to access US Business Environment Profiles. These profiles provide insight into the drivers that affect industry performance. The drivers include exchange rates, commodity prices, interest rates, weather conditions, consumer attitudes, demographics and many more.
-
International Labor Organization(Open Access)
Find reports, research, labor standards and a statistics database.
-