Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections (ASC)

This guide is intended to help you get started with your archival and rare book research at the University of Calgary.

Library Catalogue

The UCalgary Library Catalogue allows for searching of individual rare books and archival fonds in ASC. It also includes books, articles, and databases accessible to UCalgary community members. If you are not affiliated with UCalgary, you can still request access to archival material.

I. Searching for Rare Books and Special Publications

To search the library holdings of ASC, use the following steps.

1. Select "UofC Collections" in the "Search for" section.

Screenshot of selecting UofC Collections.

2. Select "Physical Collections" in the "Search Scope" section.

Screenshot of selecting Physical Collections.

3. Type the name or subject you are interested in searching in the "Search Filters" section.

Screenshot of where to type search terms.

4. Select the "Search" button or press "Enter".

Screenshot of selecting the Search button.

5. Select "Archives and Special Collections" from the "Library" filter along the left-hand menu.

Screenshot of selecting Archives and Special Collections from filter menu.

II. Searching for Archival Fonds or Collections

The UCalgary Library Catalogue can also be used to search for archival fonds or collections held by ASC. These results will redirect to the Search Archives database.

1. Select "UofC Collections" in the "Search for" section:

Screenshot of selecting UofC Collections.

2. Select "Archives" in the "Search Scope":

Screenshot of selecting Archives.

3. Type the name or subject you are interested in searching in the "Search Filters" section.

Screenshot of where to type search terms.