Map Resources at UCalgary and Beyond

Alberta Landcover Map and GIS data
Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute provides raw data and online viewers for landcover and various plant and animal species distribution maps

Alberta Geological Survey interactive Minerals Map
Bedrock, superficial geology, sediment thickness and topography layers are available. AGS also provides links for free downloads of its maps in .pdf format and as GIS digital datasets

Geological Atlas of the Western Canada Sedimentary Basin (WCSB)
An online version of the WCSB that also provides some of the underlying digital data

Alberta Soil Information Viewer
Online viewer which also provides search, draw, extract and download functions (in .shp, .kml, .gpx or .csv)

Alberta Agriculture and Climate Information Viewer
Quick viewer, Climate Mapper and Weather Mapper applications present climatic information for the agriculture industry and researchers. Select sections of the Agricultural Land Resource Atlas of Alberta are also available. Online mappers provide reference and historical information as screen-quality, page-sized maps.

Alberta River Basins
Maps of the seven major river basins or major river systems

Alberta Environment Groundwater Information System
Interactive map and database contains approximately 500,000 records with about 5,000 new drilling reports received annually. Information about individual water well drilling reports, chemical analysis reports up to the end of 1986. Requires use of Microsoft Internet Explorer.

Edmonton-Calgary Corridor Groundwater Atlas
Reports and GIS data available

Calgary-Lethbridge Corridor
Project aims to compile existing geological and hydrogeological information.

Flood Risk Maps Information System
Selected Alberta Environment maps showing flood risk zones

BC Biogeoclimatic Ecosystem Classification Maps
Biogeoclimatic Ecosystem Classification (BEC) is an hierarchical system that uses climate, soil and characteristic vegetation to group ecosystems at various levels. Caution - large .pdf files

Saskatchewan GeoAtlas
An online atlas which includes geological layers which can be downloaded in a GIS format

Soil Information System (CanSIS)
This site contains maps, data and/or GIS files for Canadian soil landscapes, soil surveys and ecological framework

National Soil Information Database
This site contains maps, data and/or GIS files for Canadian soil landscapes, soil surveys and ecological framework

Agriculture Canada Geospatial Products
GIS data and maps regarding climate, agriculture, watersheds and landcover for the Canadian prarie region