BUSN - Entrepreneurship & Small Business

Resources on starting and running a business; for resources specific to aboriginal business, view our Aboriginal Economic Development guide.

Top Directories

Alberta Business-to-Business
Sales & Marketing Directory
Available in print format in the
Business Library HF5072 .A4 A424

Calgary Company Lists (Calgary
Economic Development)

Alberta Business-to-Business Sales and Marketing Directory
(Available in print format in the Business Library)
This directory is available in the Reference collection of the Business Library (HF5072 .A4 A424). Includes businesses by city; businesses by industry; major employers; and manufacturers by city and product.
Calgary Company Lists and Business Directory
(Calgary Economic Development) (Open Access)
Find Calgary's top companies based on various criteria and view Calgary companies for key industries. Also provides links to other business directories.
Guide to Aboriginal Organizations and Services in Alberta
Includes business and economic development agencies & services, employment services and more.
Alberta Directory of Directories
(Government of Alberta)
A list of associations and groups with offices in Alberta - many of these organizations have directories of firms in their industry.

Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as: Canadian Business Directory, search an extensive database of over 1,000,000 Canadian companies, both public and private. Search criteria includes, geography, industry, number of employees, and more.
Reference Solutions, a service of Data Axle, is an Internet-based reference service. The site was designed for use as a reference and research tool for students, job seekers and researchers. Reference Solutions includes 2 business databases: Canadian Businesses and U.S. jobs/Internships. Canadian Businesses provides accurate phone-verified information on every company in Canada. Their files are processed weekly against the National Change of Address Program. Selection criteria include: Employee size, Sales volume, Primary and secondary SIC codes, Executive title, Ticker symbol, and Location type. U.S. jobs/Internships combines the power of Reference Solutions with indeed.com to find jobs with their state-of-the-art mapping tool and view results with detailed business profiles. Selection criteria include: Job title, Company name, and Business type.

Indigenous Business Directory
Available from the Government of Canada website, this Indigenous Business Directory is both searchable and browsable by sector.
Directories of Canadian companies
This webpage on the Government of Canada website has a variety of directories including lists of Canadian importers, agri-food supplier directories, federal corporations, etc.
Fraser's Canadian Trade Directory
(Open Access)
Frasers.com is a trade directory of Canadian industrial suppliers, wholesalers, manufacturers, distributors and their products and services. Search by product and company brand as well as browse by category.
Canadian Trade Index
(Open Access)
Offers an industrial directory for companies operating in Canada. This website provides company information and product information. It can be searched by product or company or browsed by product. Also available in print format in the Reference collection of the Business Library (HF3223 .C3)

S & P Capital IQ
Available only at Business Library on Stations 13, 14 and the Reference desk. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. The database has a powerful screening tool to identify companies that meet specific criteria.
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.

ThomasNet
This website is a directory of industrial manufacturers, distributors and service providers covering both Canada and the United States. This website can be browsed by product categories and provides a search for product type, company name or brand.
EuroPages
(Open Access)
Directory of suppliers, manufacturers and distributors operating in Europe. Can search by company or business sector. This site provides information on company services and specialties as well as contact information.
Global Supplier Directory
This website is a directory of global industrial suppliers and product information. This site can be browsed by product categories and allows a search by product type, supplier or company name.

S & P Capital IQ
Available only at Business Library on Stations 13, 14 and the Reference desk. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. The database has a powerful screening tool to identify companies that meet specific criteria.
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.