BUSN - Entrepreneurship & Small Business
Resources on starting and running a business; for resources specific to aboriginal business, view our Aboriginal Economic Development guide.
Looking for Industry Information?
Click on the image below to go to our industry research guide.
Market Research
Information sources for Market Research have been divided into two main categories.
Demographics and statistics
Consumer trends and lifestyles
Demographics and Statistics
- Calgary Community Profiles(Open Access)
Profiles cover: population, mobility,age, income, employment, family composition, social isolation, education, cultural diversity, housing. - Calgary Economic DevelopmentCurrent and forecast economic indicators and economic development strategy.
- Calgary Small Businesses: Fact Sheet(Open Access)
Calgary's small businesses are a driving force within the city's business community. An excellent collection of statistics. - Alberta Office of Statistics and InformationA collection of statistical data for Alberta including population and demography, agriculture, construction, culture and leisure, education, energy, ethnic diversity, families, health, labour and more.
- Alberta Population Statistics(Government of Alberta) (Open Access)
Access quarterly demographic statistics, demographic spotlights, and census highlights. - Invest AlbertaFind data updates, reports and publications, economic news and commentaries, success stories and more.
- Alberta Labour Market Information(Open Access)
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowConference Board of Canada issues regular reports on economic outlook at the national, provincial and municipal levels.
- Restaurants Canada (formerly CRFA - Canadian Restaurant & Foodservices Association)(Open Access)
Use the "Resources" tab to find quick stats and reports on the foodservices industry at the national, regional and provincial levels. - Calgary Economic Development - Small Business PlanningCalgary has the highest concentration of small businesses of any major city in Canada and the Small Business Microsite is a tool that will provide online information and advice that is easy to access, clear, relevant and up to date.
The microsite is intended to make it easier for small businesses and entrepreneurs to:
* research their customers and competitors
* uncover local opportunities
* even find the best location for their business
- Statistics by Subject (Statistics Canada)Find Canadian statistics on a subject of interest. Includes subjects such as ethnic diversity, environment, seniors, culture & leisure, society & community, demographics, information & communications technology and more.
- SME Research and Statistics (Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada)Find small business statistics, research reports and more.
- Small Business Weekly (TD Economics)Look for "Small Business Weekly" under "Current Publications" on the right side of the screen. Includes weekly highlights, economic indicators, industrial outlook and analysis of the small business environment in Canada.
- Canadian Federation of Independent Business (CFIB)This site includes news, new rulings, research reports, and items of interest to entrepreneurs within Canada. Click on "Tools & Resources" in the menu bar at the top to access articles, statistics, research reports, and survey results for Canada and the provinces.
- Report on the Demographic Situation in Canada(Statistics Canada)
Population growth and projections by province and sub-provincial levels.
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowConference Board of Canada issues regular reports on economic outlook at the national, provincial and municipal levels.
- Centre for the Study of Living StandardsThe focus of CSLS is to "investigate trends in and determinants of productivity, living standards and economic and social well-being through research."
Includes "Index of Economic Well-being", labour markets, productivity, industry sectors and more.
Consumer Trends & Lifestyles
- Calgary & Region Social OutlookAn annual five-year forecast that provides a snapshot of the social state-of-the-city, its opportunities and challenges, and where it’s headed.
- Calgary & Region Economic Outlook (City of Calgary)(Open Access)
Short and long-term economic trends. - Calgary Community Profiles (City of Calgary)(Open Access)
Profiles cover: population, mobility,age, income, employment, family composition, social isolation, education, cultural diversity, housing. - Calgary Demographics (Calgary Economic Development)Current and projected population by age; ethnicity.
- Calgary & Alberta LibGuideA comprehensive collection of many resources on Calgary.
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowConference Board of Canada issues regular reports on economic outlook at the national, provincial and municipal levels. Also use the "Topics" tab to view other relevant topics covered in the database.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowPassport database by Euromonitor International provides extensive information on countries, consumers, industries and more. The Consumer Lifestyle Reports by country are very helpful. They provide a detailed analysis of demographics and all aspects of consumer life in that country.
- Statistics Canada - household spending and savingsAccess a list of available tables on household spending and savings. U of C students, staff and faculty may retrieve all Statistics Canada tables though CANSIM II database.
- Statistics by Subject (Statistics Canada)Find Canadian statistics on a subject of interest. Includes subjects such as ethnic diversity, environment, seniors, culture & leisure, society & community, demographics, information & communications technology and more.
- Environics Analytics: Prizm Segmentation(Limited data available online)
PRIZM C2 provides 66 lifestyle types that describe the behaviour and mindset of Canadian consumers. Click on "Lifestyle lookup" to identify the segment that best describes your neighbourhood. - Economic Insights (Statistics Canada)
"The Economic Insights series features concise examinations of economic events, trends, and important structural changes in the economy."
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowConference Board of Canada issues regular reports on economic outlook at the national, provincial and municipal levels. Also use the "Topics" tab to view other relevant topics covered in the database.
- Mapping your future growth: Five game-changing consumer trendsThis BDC report presents five emerging Canadian consumer behaviours and how small and medium size enterprises can adapt and benefit from them..
- BDC analysis and researchBusiness Development Bank of Canada (BDC) produces reports that are useful for Canadian entrepreneurs.
- Pew Research Center(Open Access)
Conducts research to provide insights and analysis into the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Use the tabs to locate information on "social trends", "internet & tech" etc. or search by keyword.
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Market Research by Call Number: Electronic bookISBN: 9780313396052Publication Date: 2012-01-01
