BUSN - Master's Programs in Business (MBA, EMBA, GEEMBA)

Information on using the Library to access print and electronic resources to help with MBA/EMBA courses and projects.

Academic Literature vs Applied (Trade) Literature

ACADEMIC JOURNALS

TRADE JOURNALS

Written by academics

Descriptive titles

Charts and graphs

Many citations, always has a bibliography

Examples:
Human Resource Management

Journal of Business Ethics

Journal of Management Research

Academy of Management Journal

Also referred to as "applied literature"

Written by industry professionals

Catchy titles

Glossy pictures

Hardly any citations, no bibliographies

Examples:
Harvard Business Review

People Management

Journal of Transportation

Oilweek

Search in these popular business databases.

You may limit your search to "trade publications" or "academic journals" on the search screen by using the limiter "Publication Type" or "Source Type"
You may search additional databases that are relevant to your topic and published by the same vendor simultaneously using "Choose databases" at the top of the screen.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source® Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- This product supersedes Business Search Premier.
ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI / Business Premium Collection) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is an intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers. ProQuest One Business content includes: company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; scholarly journals and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers; full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times; and a robust collection of videos.