BUSN - Master's Programs in Business (MBA, EMBA, GEEMBA)
Information on using the Library to access print and electronic resources to help with MBA/EMBA courses and projects.
Economic Reports & Indicators
Guide to Economic Indicators by Call Number: Electronic bookISBN: 0765616467Publication Date: 2006-03-15
- Economics Research GuideThis research guide directs you to resources for economic statistics, indicators, news and more at the local, national and international levels.
- Google search tip for government informationHow to limit a Google search to government sites.
Economic Indicators and Statistics
- Calgary and Region Economic Outlook (City of Calgary)The City of Calgary monitors and forecasts key indicators for the local economy and the results are published twice a year in the spring and the fall.
- Calgary Economic Development(Open Access)
Current and forecast economic indicators and economic development strategy. - City of Calgary: Current Economic AnalysisThis monthly report contains comments, analysis and statistical illustrations of a set of economic indicators.
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowConference Board of Canada issues regular reports on economic outlook at the national, provincial and municipal levels.
- Calgary & Area Labour Market Quarterly and Annual ReportsFind labour market and economic information and analysis, and a review of labour market issues.
- Alberta's Economy (Government of Alberta, Finance and Enterprise)Find economic statistics, economic outlook, as well as regular publications issued by the department.
- Alberta Open Data Portal (Government of Alberta)A searchable portal that provides open access to the statistics gathered by the provincial government
- Alberta Official Statistics (Office of Statistics and Information, Alberta Employment and Immigration)A comprehensive site for Alberta statistics in 26 categories, as well as current fact sheet updates.
- Alberta's Economic OutlookAlberta Treasury Board & Finance.
- Alberta Monthly Economic TrendsAlberta Treasury Board & Finance.
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowConference Board of Canada issues regular reports on economic outlook at the national, provincial and municipal levels.
- Canada: Economic and Financial Data (Statistics Canada)Economic indicators for real sector, fiscal sector, financial sector, external sector and population. Updated daily.
- Statistics Canada Economic IndicatorsA compilation of information from many Statistics Canada tables.
- CANSIM (Canadian Socio-economic Information Management System) This link opens in a new windowStatistics Canada's database providing access to current and historical time series data collected on a wide variety of subjects by Statistics Canada as well as other government agencies, such as the Bank of Canada.
- OECD Economic Survey of Canada 2014Published in June 2014 this report investigates the major challenges facing the country, provides extensive statistical information and a short-term outlook.
- Centre for the Study of Living StandardsThe focus of CSLS is to "investigate trends in and determinants of productivity, living standards and economic and social well-being through research."
Includes "Index of Economic Well-being", labour markets, productivity, industry sectors and more. - Canadian Economy (Canadian Business Network)Find current economic indicators for the Canadian economy.
Includes data on: economic indicators, small business statistics, prices, business performance and ownership.
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowConference Board of Canada issues regular reports on economic outlook at the national, provincial and municipal levels.
- Economic Insights (Statistics Canada)
"The Economic Insights series features concise examinations of economic events, trends, and important structural changes in the economy." - Bank of Canada Rates and StatisticsCurrent and historical exchange rates, interest rates, price indices, and monetary policy indicators.
Google Public Data ExplorerGlobal and U.S. datasets covering economic indicators, demographic, labour, health, education statistics and more. Create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in webpages.
- OECD Economic OutlookThe Outlook is a twice-yearly analysis of the major economic trends and prospects for the next two years.
- Economist Intelligence UnitAn excellent resource for country analysis, industry information, historical data retrieval and special reports.
Scroll to "All Countries" to select a specific country (not all data is freely available). - World Development Indicators Online (World Bank)"The most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates." Indicators are grouped by: world view, people, environment, economy, states and markets, and global links.
- BloombergBloomberg has a dedicated station (station 14) and must be accessed from the Business Library. An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of Canadian, U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, and market news and historical economic data. Type ECST at the cursor to access world economic statistics.
- IMF eLibrary data This link opens in a new windowThe International Monetary Fund publishes a range of time series data related to IMF lending, exchange rates, and economic and financial indicators for well over 200 countries. Searching this database gives you access to all IMF data sources including: International Financial Statistics.
- Global Statistics BureausThe Business Library has compiled a list of Statistics Bureaus for almost all countries of the world with links to the websites.
- OECD Factbook: Economic Environmental and Social StatisticsAccess global statistics, and reports on: population and migration, economic trends, economic globalization, prices, energy, labour, science and technology, environment, education, public finance, quality of life and inequality. U of C students staff and faculty may access the OECD iLibrary for additional economic data, forecasts, and country information. Also see the OECD country statistical profiles.
- GlobalEDGE (Michigan State University)A portal that provides access to a wealth of information on global business activities. Includes extensive data at the global and country levels as well as information on major global industry groups.
Go to "Insight Research by Country" to access a country report that includes a section on government. - World Economic ForumSee the "Reports" section for detailed reports on global issues including global competitiveness reports, global risks reports, industry reports and more.
- Federal Reserve Bank of St. LouisEconomic indicators, monthly national and international economic trends, and data tools.
- Trading EconomicsThis is an excellent site for global economic data. Includes economic news, country data, indicators, markets and forecasts.
- United Nations Statistics DivisionThis site is a portal providing links to many sources of statistics from all over the world. Use the left-hand navigation area to access economic statistics, demographic and social statistics, environment and energy statistics, geographic information, and more.
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowConference Board of Canada issues regular reports on economic outlook at the national, provincial and municipal levels.
- United States Bureau of Economic AnalysisFind detailed U.S. National Economic Accounts, foreign trade, industry economic accounts and more.
- Global Creativity IndexThe index is designed by the Martin Prosperity Institute at the University of Toronto. It is a "measure for advanced economic growth and sustainable prosperity based on the 3Ts of economic development — talent, technology, and tolerance. It rates and ranks 139 nations worldwide on each of these dimensions and on our overall measure of creativity and prosperity."
- Global Economy WatchPublished monthly by Pricewaterhouse Cooper UK., includes trends and issues that are affecting the global economy and details the latest economic projections.