Anthropology

Background Resources:

Anthropological Theories, University of Alabama - search for theories (Note: site does not work in Internet Explorer)

Collections of Open Access Books and Journal Articles:

General:

Digital Commons Network: Sociology - over 60,000 fulltext articles

DOAJ   Directory of Open Access Journals

HathiTrust  -  nearly two million digitized items

Internet Archive

JSTOR  -  certain books and older articles are freely available

Open Access Archaeology  -  searches over 260 open access Archaeology publications

Social Science Open Access Repository - over 50,000 articles, papers, books

SSRN  -  over 600,000 fulltext papers

Torrossa  -   over 400,000 articles, chapters and book from over 200 publishers in Italy, Spain, France and Portugal 

Specific Regional Coverage:

Digital Library of India  - includes issues of Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland and the journal Man.   selective full text

FAMSI: Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies  -   drawings, photographs, videos, bibliographies , reports, background information

Mana'o  -    fulltext articles on  anthropological work in the Asia Pacific area

Government Agencies:

FAO - Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations

OECD  - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development  -  OECDi Library

World Bank

UN - Global Issues  /  Human Development Reports (UN)

Think Tanks:

Brookings Institute

Center for Strategic and International Studies

Institute of Development Studies

Rand Corporation

Wilson Center

Specific Open Access Text:

Curtis' The North American Indian 

Northwestern University Library, Edward S. Curtis's "The North American Indian," 2003.
http://curtis.library.northwestern.edu/

Wooden bowl with duck head attached, probably broken on one side.  Peabody                                                                                                                                   Museum of Archaeology and  Ethnology 2004.29.6388

Arachne -  "central Object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne"

British Museum  - over 2 million objects including Archaeological and other objects from the ancient world, Europe, Africa, Asia, contemporary cultures of indigenous peoples, and coins from ancient Greece and Rome

Beazley Archive, "the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery".

Giza Archives

The Griffith Institute  -  images and archival texts from ancient Egypt and the Levant

McCord Museum - Ethnology and Archaeology -"Some 15,800 ethnographic and archaeological objects reflect the special and longstanding ties that link the Museum to the Native peoples of Canada and document many aspects of their ways of life, arts, cultures and traditions. This sector also includes a number of objects from communities living in Alaska and the northern United States.

New York Public Library Digital Collections  - over 800,000 prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts and videos.

Open Content -  "reviews, edits, and publishes archaeological research data and archives data with university-backed repositories, including the California Digital Library"  with over 23,000 images

Oxford Art Online  - text of key art reference works.  Can limit search to image only

Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology at Harvard University  -  over 1.2 million objects and 1/2  million images from around the world.  Includes Aztec figurines, masks from Central America and painting of Meso-American architecture

Penn Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology -  over 150,000 images

Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology Collections (University of California, Berkeley)