Anthropology

• Cambridge History of Latin America
• Encyclopedia of Food and Culture -  see for example " Mexico and Central America Precolumbian
• Encyclopedia of Latin America

• Library Search Box
• Center for Research Libraries -   Digital Collections 
• HathiTrust Digital Libray -  over a million full text documents for Latin America
• Brazilian and Portuguese history and culture. The Oliveira Lima Library -full text documents
• Sabin Americana, 1500-1926  -  full text documents
• World scholar. Latin America & the Caribbean- full text documents

While you can use the library search box to locate academic articles, it is often more useful to use a specialized database such as:

• Annual Reviews -  extensive overviews of the literature published on a variety of topics
• Anthropology Plus
• HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index
• Dialnet - index to over 1,000 open access journals - mostly in Spanish
• JSTOR -   Note you can use advanced search to limit results to anthropology
• Scielo -  index to full text documents majority on Brazil

Also good to consult the specialized databases for subject area of your topic, for example:  Religion,  Medicine,  Sociology

Google Scholar

• Factiva -  full text of major Latin American newspapers.  Can limit search to particular religion

• CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online -  full text of papers, articles,  policy documents etc. Significant content for Latin America
• LANIC - Portal to Latin America Resources on the Web
• LAPOP:  Latin America Public Opinion Project  -  provides full text documents - mostly in Spanish