Engineering
Mechanical Engineering Resources
Overview
Mechanical Engineering is the branch of engineering that focuses on the design, analysis, manufacturing, and maintenance of mechanical systems. It involves working with machines, engines, tools, and energy systems. This discipline combines creativity and problem-solving to develop solutions in areas like transportation, robotics, manufacturing, and renewable energy.
Books & E-Books
- Libraries and Cultural Resources
UCalgary Library Search-Civil Engineering Books
EBook
Search Library Resources
Selected Databases
What is a Database?
A database is a searchable collection of articles, papers, and other academic materials. It helps you find reliable and up-to-date information for your research. In civil engineering, databases provide access to journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports written by experts in the field.
- Compendex This link opens in a new window
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
- If API is needed, see APIs for Scholarly Resources: Web of Science API Lite
Selected Mechanical Databases
- ASME digital collection. eBooks This link opens in a new window
- ASME digital collection. Journals This link opens in a new window
- ASME digital collection. Conference proceedings This link opens in a new window
Selected Journals
What is a Selected Journal?
A selected Journal is a trusted, peer-reviewed publication that shares research articles written by experts. These journals focus on specific topics in civil engineering like structures, materials, or transportation. They are great sources for finding current research, case studies, and new developments in the field.
- Mechanical Engineering JournalsThis list contains journals about Mechanical Engineering and related disciplines.
Research Help
Need help finding articles, using databases, or citing your sources?
We are here to help!
You can:
-
📚 Ask us how to search for books, articles, and journals
-
🔍 Get help using databases like Compendex, Scopus, or Web of Science
-
✍️ Learn how to cite your sources properly (APA, IEEE, etc.)
-
🤔 Get support with choosing or refining a research topic
Contact the Librarian:
📧 Email: gallagher@ucalgary.libanswers.com
📅 Book a one-on-one appointment
📍 Visit the Library Help Desk
🔗 Link to research tutorials
Professional Association
Professional Association
A Professional Association is a group that supports people working or studying in a field like civil engineering. These organizations offer helpful resources, job opportunities, industry news, and networking events. Many also have student memberships and scholarships to help you get started in your career.