Engineering
Chemical Engineering Resources
Overview
Chemical engineering is the branch of engineering that combines science and math to design processes for making useful products. Chemical engineers turn raw materials into everyday items like food, fuel, medicine, and clean water. They work in industries such as energy, pharmaceuticals, environmental protection, and manufacturing solving problems to make processes safer, more efficient, and more sustainable. technologies like artificial organs, imaging systems (like MRI and CT scanners), and wearable health monitors.
Books & E-Books
- Libraries and Culture Resources
UCalgary Library Search-Electrical Engineering
Books
E-Books
Search Library Resources
Selected Databases
What is a Database?
A database is a searchable collection of articles, papers, and other academic materials. It helps you find reliable and up-to-date information for your research. In civil engineering, databases provide access to journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports written by experts in the field.
- Compendex This link opens in a new window
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
- If API is needed, see APIs for Scholarly Resources: Web of Science API Lite
Selected Chemical Databases
- PubChemPubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
- SciFinderSciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Combined data from three sources: The Beilstein Database, The Gmelin Database, and The Patent Chemistry Database.
Intro to Reaxys and SciFinder
Selected Journals
What is a Selected Journal?
A selected Journal is a trusted, peer-reviewed publication that shares research articles written by experts. These journals focus on specific topics in civil engineering like structures, materials, or transportation. They are great sources for finding current research, case studies, and new developments in the field.
- Chemical Engineering JournalsThis list contains journals about Chemical Engineering and related disciplines.
Research Help
Need help finding articles, using databases, or citing your sources?
We are here to help!
You can:
-
📚 Ask us how to search for books, articles, and journals
-
🔍 Get help using databases like Compendex, Scopus, or Web of Science
-
✍️ Learn how to cite your sources properly (APA, IEEE, etc.)
-
🤔 Get support with choosing or refining a research topic
Contact the Librarian:
📧 Email: gallagher@ucalgary.libanswers.com
📅 Book a one-on-one appointment
📍 Visit the Library Help Desk
🔗 Link to research tutorials
Professional Association
Professional Association
A Professional Association is a group that supports people working or studying in a field like civil engineering. These organizations offer helpful resources, job opportunities, industry news, and networking events. Many also have student memberships and scholarships to help you get started in your career.
Canada Petrochemicals Report
Chemical Prices
- Suppliers (Baker Hughes etc) do not publicly list their chemical prices. Try emailing companies for quotes, allowing for time to receive communication back.
- Check out Dalhousie University's Libguide for additional information on pricing