EndNote Citation Tool
An introduction to EndNote Desktop version and EndNote Online / Web (free version).
Learn EndNote Desktop as if you were in class
| This video covers the Direct Export process from UofC subscribed databases into EndNote desktop using preferred browsers |
- Select the references you want to import
- Use Mozilla Firefox OR Chrome to import references directly by selecting the Research Soft-Direct Export Helper function
- Direct Export from Web of ScienceA short tutorial showing the direct export function from Web of Science to an EndNote library
| This video covers how to import references as text files if a direct export option is not available from browsers |
- Save references as text files - i.e. (.nbib in Pubmed OR .cgi in OVID databases OR .RIS in EBSCO databases)
- Import into EndNote using the corresponding Import Filter.
- Each database have specific file extensions and export instructions
- Find a complete list of Import Filters by going to the Tools menu > select Import Filter > go to Filter Manager
| This video covers how to import references from Google Scholar to EndNote - desktop or online version. |
- Before starting a search, go to the Options button 'three horizontal bars" in the upper left-hand corner. Select Settings.
- Under Bibliography Manager, click on the drop down menu and select Refman. Click Save.
- Perform a Google Scholar search and select references to go into an EndNote library. Choose Import into Refman.
- Choose one reference at a time or multiple references to import. A Google account is needed to import multiple references.
- Once signed in, click on the star icon at the bottom of each reference. Click Done after each selection.
- After the selection process, go to My Library
- Select All References, go to the Export icon (arrow pointing downwards). Choose Refman and export to EndNote.
| This video covers how to create custom groups and organize references for a seamless workflow |
- Organize references by creating custom groups or group sets. Under the Groups tab, click Create a Group Set or Create a Group
- A Group Set is a collection of custom groups
- A Custom Group is a collection of references grouped together and given a name or description
- A Smart Group organizes references based on a specified search criteria
- EndNote 21 library interfaceA quick overview of what an EndNote 21 library looks like
| This video covers how to manage duplicates within an EndNote library before a writing process |
- Under the Library tab, select Find Duplicates
- Compare references using the side-by-side window and decide which records to keep
- For each set of duplicates there's options to:
- Click Keep This Record to save the preferred reference and move the duplicate to Trash
- Click Skip to leave both references intact. They will appear in a temporary Duplicate References group so you can review later
- Click Cancel to automatically instruct EndNote to select the most recently-entered version(s) of each duplicate references as the one(s) to be removed. Go through the highlighted duplicates and review them before deleting.
| This video covers how to employ the Find Full Text feature to look for PDF content within the library collection |
- Set up Find Full Text in EndNote Desktop to include University of Calgary library licensed resources
- Within EndNote > under the Edit tab > select Preferences > select Find Full Text
- Fill out the two URL information for the Find Full Text feature to work with EndNote. This is a one-time set-up.
- Set Open URL Path to:
- Set Authenticate With URL to:
| This video covers how to import a collection of PDF's stored in a personal folder |
- Import stored PDF's into an EndNote library
- Under the File menu, select Import > Select File for a single PDF or Folder for multiple PDF's
- Guide to PDF attachments and annotationsA video demonstration by an EndNote Customer Education Trainer on how to manage file attachments and use pdf annotations.
- Importing PDF filesThis visual aid walks through the steps for importing a folder of PDFs into EndNote simultaneously
| This video covers how to insert citations in a Word document using the Cite-While-You-Write plug-in |
- When EndNote Desktop is installed on a computer, a plug-in called Cite-While-You-Write (CWYW) is automatically included. CWYW allows you to insert selected references to work with Microsoft Word documents
- Find the EndNote tab within Word to start inserting selected references
- Insert selected references from an active EndNote library in a Word document
- Insert Citation(s)Using the Cite-While-You-Write plugin to insert citations
- Insert Selected Citation(s)Highlight the reference(s) you want to insert within an MS Word document
| This video covers how to modify in-text citations according to a preferred output style |
- Modify the appearance of EndNote in-text citations by using the Edit & Manage Citations button
- Highlight selected in-text citation(s) and modify them by adding additional information - i.e. prefix, suffix, pages.
- Edit and Manage Citation(s)Modify in-text citations within a Word document
| This video covers the different options on how to share an EndNote library or groups of references |
- Share an entire EndNote library or groups of references to collaborators. EndNote 21 will allow you to share with up to 1000 other colleagues.
- Set Read Only or Read & Write permissions when sharing references. Once shared, an email generated message is sent out to the recipient
- View a Shared Library by going to the File menu and selecting Open a Shared Library
- Library Sharing in EndNote 21Share your Sync library with other desktop users
| This video shows how to Sync your EndNote accounts |
- Designate an EndNote library as your Sync library. If you have only one library, use this to sync with an EndNote Online account.
- Under the Library tab, click on Sync
- Click Sign Up to create a new EndNote account or sync with an existing account by inputting your login credentials
- Library Syncing in EndNote 21Configure library syncing
| The instructions show how to export references from the U of C library resources into EndNote |
- Perform a search query using the library search box.
- On the results list page, select references you want to import by checking them off using the square icon.
- Save the selected references by clicking on the push pin icon
- Import the references into EndNote by clicking on the ellipsis icon > Select Export RIS
- Select Download > Open with EndNote program
You can use the Z39.50 protocol to connect to the UofC library collection and holdings by using a connection file from within EndNote. Please note that the Z39.50 connection setting include retrieval of books only and not articles.
Within EndNote, activate the Z39.50 connection setting by entering the information below on the prompt window:
- Open an active EndNote library > go to the Tools menu
- Select Connection Files > slide over to Open Connection Manager
- Within the EndNote Connections window, scroll down and select U Calgary Library Catalog > select Edit
- On the next window, select Connection Settings and enter the information below corresponding the fields:
- Server Address: ucalgary.alma.exlibrisgroup.com
- Database: Library Catalog
- Database Name: 01UCALG_INST
- Element Set: F
- Port ID: 1921
- Record Syntax: select MARC21 from the drop down menu
- Text: select Unicode (UTF-8) from the drop down menu
- Wait for the Save prompt and select OK