EndNote Citation Tool
An introduction to EndNote Desktop version and EndNote Online / Web (free version).
Learn EndNote Online as if you were in class
- Import from Databases
- Organize Custom Groups
- Export from Google Scholar
- Find Duplicates
- Find Full text
- Sharing in EndNote Online
- Sync EndNote Online with EndNote Desktop
- Install Cite-While-You-Write plug-in
- EndNote Click
There are multiple methods for adding references to an EndNote Online account.
|This video covers importing a Text File - a database creates a file. Save and import the file to EndNote Online.|
- Perform your search and mark preferred references. Look for a Save or Export option in the database.
- Select a file format such as .ris or .enw. Save the file to your computer.
- Go to EndNote Online. Select the Collect tab, and then click the Import References link
- Import into EndNote using the corresponding Import Option.
|This video shows how to import references from Pubmeb into EndNote Online|
|This video covers how to organize and group references once imported into an EndNote Online account|
- Select the references you want to group
- Click on Add Group from the drop-down menu and select New Group
- Name the new group and click OK
|This video demonstrates how import references from Google Scholar to an EndNote Online account|
- Before starting a search in Google Scholar, go to the Options button "three horizontal bars" in the upper left hand corner.
- Select Settings
- Under Bibliography Manager, click on the drop down menu and select Refman. Click Save.
- Perform a Google Scholar search and select references. To import a reference, choose Import into Refman
- You can import one or multiple references. A Google account is required to import multiple references.
- Once signed in, click on the star icon at the bottom of each reference. Click Done after every selection
- After the selection process, go to My Library
- Select All References, go to the Export icon (arrow pointing downwards), choose Refman and export to an EndNote Online account
|This video shows how to identify and delete duplicates before starting to write a manuscript.|
- Under the Organize tab, go to Find Duplicates
- EndNote automatically identifies duplicates by marking them off with a check mark beside each reference (s)
- You have the option to Delete them or Copy to Quick List (temporarily until deleted)
|This video shows how to find full text content for references in an EndNote Online account.|
- Find the Get Full Text icon to obtain PDF's through the University of Calgary library subscribed resources. This button will link to institutional full text resources and the Open URL LinkResolver service.
|This video shows how to share references or groups with another EndNote Online user.|
- Under the Organize tab, go to Manage My Groups. Rename or Delete a group at anytime.
- Click on Manage Sharing to start sharing a group of references > click on Start Sharing this Group
- Enter email addresses. Use the Return or Enter key to separate multiple addresses
- Choose whether to give colleagues Read Only OR Read and Write access
|This video shows how to Sync an EndNote Online account with EndNote Desktop|
- You can only apply the Sync button within EndNote Desktop
- Within EndNote Desktop go to the Library tab > go to Sync
|This video demonstrates how to use EndNote Click - a free, easy-to-use browser plug-in to obtain PDF content|
- Create your EndNote Click account
- Find your institution to access your library subscriptions
- Last Updated: Nov 28, 2023 8:14 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/endnote
- Print Page