The Nickle Numismatic Collection
The Nickle Numismatic Collection is the most important academic money collection in Canada.
- The Nickle Numismatic Collection
- Virtual Exhibitions
- Online Numismatic Lectures
- Ancient Greek Coins
- Ancient Roman Coins
- Celtic Coins
- Byzantine Coins
- Islamic Coins
- Medieval Coins
- Notgeld (German Emergency Money)
- Asian Currencies
- Canadian Money
- Pre-Coinage Currencies
- Online Database and Images
- Online Resources
- Reference Books
- American Numismatic SocietyThe American Numismatic Society is dedicated to the study and public appreciation of coins, currencies, medals, and other related objects. Since its founding in 1858, the ANS has assembled a permanent collection with over 800,000 objects dating from 650 BCE to the present and numismatic library, which houses approximately 100,000 books, documents, and artifacts. These resources are used to support publications of books and periodicals, lectures, academic seminars, and exhibitions.
- ANS Digital LibraryThe ANS Digital Library houses unpublished American and international PhD dissertations and MA theses on numismatic topics. Open Access eBooks and scanned auction catalogues will soon be available for free use.
- CRRO: Coinage of the Roman Republic OnlineCoinage of the Roman Republic Online aims to provide in effect an online version of Michael Crawford's 1974 publication Roman Republican Coinage (RRC), which is still the primary typology used for the identification of Roman Republican coin types.
- Greek and Roman Studies LibGuidesLibGuides prepared by the Subject Librarian
- MANTIS: The ANS Collection DatabaseMANTIS serves as the online home for the ANS's permanent collection. Hundreds of thousands of records, related images, and other contextual data are constantly updated while new records are added regularly.
- OCRE: Online Coins of the Roman EmpireOnline Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE), a joint project of the American Numismatic Society and the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University, is a revolutionary new tool designed to help in the identification, cataloging, and research of the rich and varied coinage of the Roman Empire.
- PELLA: Coinage of the Kings of MacedoniaPELLA is a project of the American Numismatic Society directed by Dr. Peter van Alfen. PELLA provides links to examples of the coinage (in the name) of Alexander the Great and Philip III Arrhidaeus present in the ANS collection, the Münzkabinett of the State Museums of Berlin, and the British Museum.
- Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum (SNG)The Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum is a British Academy Research Project, the purpose of which is to publish illustrated catalogues of Greek coins in public and private collections in the British Isles.
SNG has retained the traditional, very broad, definition of 'Greek' to include the coins produced by all ancient civilisations of the Mediterranean and neighbouring regions except Rome, though it does include the Roman Provincial series often known as 'Greek Imperials'.
- Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum publicationsList of all Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum (SNG) published volumes
- Last Updated: Jul 22, 2022 12:01 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/numismatics
- Print Page