Engineering
Contact the Business Librarians
We have librarians who are experts in providing research help in the business and public policy literature. Please feel free to contact the team:
An Introduction to the Business Literature
Types of Information
- Industry reports (an overview of an industry in a particular geographical region that provides trends and outlooks, including competitors)
- Company reports (often referred to as an annual report provides an overview of company operations and financial standing to stakeholders)
- Market research (an overview of the size of a market, demographics, consumer trends and geographical information)
- Journal articles (academically published information that comprises of collated research to present evidence that supports or disputes a topic of inquiry)
- Etc
Sources of Information
- Regulatory
- Commercial (by companies themselves, or by companies about other companies)
- Industry/trade associations
- Non-profits
- Media
- Etc
**There isn't just one database that can "find it all", you need to search multiple sources**
Databases to search:
General business database
- Try using this database to find reports, journal articles etc.
- The example below demonstrates a basic Canadian report search
- Add a row to add your specific discipline or topic
General business database
Industry report database
Company report database
- Thomson One - analyst reports. Great for spot prices, markets, and company news on specific projects. Use “company research” tab to search. Use Internet Explorer
- EXAMPLE:
- search “company research” advanced search for propene….then try propylene (title/text, then try title only).
Company report database
- It is best to use the advanced search if you know what site you want to search.
- EXAMPLE: oleflex in google.
- Then add oleflex and borealis (then add cost).
- Or, oleflex and cost site:honeywell.com filetype:pdf to find reports and presentations by the company.
Does the library have a subscription to June Warren, IHS Markit, Wood Mackenzie etc?
- We do not have subscriptions to those resources and these companies do not typically license to postsecondary institutions.
- The information researched and synthesized in these reports contain competitive information intended for industry, and not educational, use.
- We are unable to provide Interlibrary Loan services for reports from these and other research and outlook companies.