Chemistry

OPTIONAL - Sign up for an account to change structure editors, save searches, get alerts
Structures, reactions and properties, references to the literature for organic and inorganic compounds from the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Structure searchable database of chemical substances with references dating back to the 18th century. Still one of the best places to obtain property data.

Journal & patent literature for chemistry and related disciplines, including substance data (REGISTRY), chemical reactions (CASREACT), chemical regulatory data (CHEMLIST), and suppliers (CHEMCATS).
Instructions on Accessing SciFinder Scholar

"A publication of reliable methods for the preparation of organic compounds." Includes all content from v. 1 (1921) to the present.

Comprehensive Organic Functional Group Transformations I is also available at this link.

(1991)

Includes a graphical index to browse synthetic transformations by bond formation.

1st-3rd eds.

~200 reactions. Shows mechanisms, gives literature references

Elsevier's app for named reactions is "designed like a set of flash cards. Each card shows a reaction, its mechanism, examples from peer-reviewed literature and gives access to the latest publications in Reaxys. Test your knowledge with the in-app quiz."

Information on over 11,000 chemicals, drugs and biologicals, and over 500 named organic reactions.

1st-3rd eds.

This links to two books with the same title. One is by Thomas Laue (2005), the other by Denney (1969).

~200 reactions. Shows mechanisms, gives literature references

(2002)

(1995)
Supplemented by the online edition, which covers 1995-2003

(1991)

(1946-1959)

(1995) An very good encyclopedia which lists many reagents and corresponding physical data, reactions, and preparation methods in which they can be used. Most entries also have references.

(1967 -1989) Various volumes available

(1999) A condensed version of the above, Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis; the authors have chosen the most common reagents for this handbook.

Published irregularly

(2000)

A series of organic reactions; a volume is produced yearly. Each vol. contains many chapters, each about one reaction / phase of a reaction. Tables incl. all found examples of the reaction. Each vol. has a cumulative index and cumulative chapter titles. When using this, it's best to search by reaction type, as many compounds mentioned in the text are not in the indices. "Subjects are presented from the preparative viewpoint, ... attention is given to limitations, interfering influences, ..."

Another yearly series. V.22-24,1942-1944; V.26-28,1947-1948; V.30-92,1950-2015