Chemistry
Thermodynamics
Online Sources
- DIPPR Project 801 (from Knovel)"Knovelized 2011 edition of DIPPR Project 801 ..." (Evaluated Standard Thermophysical Property Values.) "... physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design."
- Reaxys (formerly CrossFire (Beilstein and Gmelin Handbooks online))OPTIONAL - Sign up for an account to change structure editors, save searches, get alerts
Structures, reactions and properties, references to the literature for organic and inorganic compounds from the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Structure searchable database of chemical substances with references dating back to the 18th century. Still one of the best places to obtain property data. Search by drawing a compound or by compound name. - NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S.A) Chemistry WebBookAccess to data compiled and distributed by National Institute of Standards and Technology under the Standard Reference Data Program. Thermochemical data for over 7000 organic and small inorganic compounds, thermophysical properties for 74 fluids.
Displays liquid-vapor curves. - Yaws' Handbook of Thermodynamic and Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds: Physical, Thermodynamic and Transport Properties for 5,000 Organic Chemical CompoundsKnovel e-book "describes how chemicals behave at different temperatures for 5000 organic chemical compounds covering C1 to C70 organics."
- Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data (JPCRD) 1972-2016"...critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation, preferably with uncertainty analysis. ...Papers reporting correlations of data or estimation methods are acceptable only if they are based on critical data evaluation and if they produce “reference data”—the best available values for the relevant properties."
NIST's search interface
Free monographic supplments - International critical tables of numerical data, physics, chemistry and technology (from Knovel)Browse chapters for specific thermodynamic properties or search within the title to find properties of specific compounds.
- Critically Selected Stability Constants of Metal Complexes (NIST Standard Reference Database 46)The online version of "Critical Stability Constants". This is a program that needs to be installed. Note the program is no longer being updated.
- ILThermo (NIST Standard Reference Database 147)Ionic liquids database with "information on publications of experimental investigation on ionic liquids, including numerical values of chemical and physical properties, measurement methods, sample purity, uncertainty of property values... The database can be searched by means of the ions constituting the ionic liquids, the ionic liquids themselves, their properties, and references."
- InfothermFrom FIZ-Berlin-the Chemistry Information Centre (Fachinformationszentrum Chemi, FIZ Chemie Berlin). Thermophysical properties of more than 199,000 pure compounds and 90,000 mixtures. Not all of the information is free, however, freely accessible information is marked.
- DETHERMSearches, in part, the DECHEMA Chemistry data series. Most of the data within is not available freely, but use this to point you to the DECHEMA Chemistry data series.
- NIST-JANAF thermochemical tables4th ed. (1998) is available as a PDF - see Data Links. The database is from the 3rd edition (1985). Search by CAS number, chemical formula, or compound name. Browse by formula or name. [NIST Standard Reference Database 13]
- Landolt-Bornstein - Group IV Physical ChemistrySOME of the books in this series are freely available. A searchable index is available at: http://lb.chemie.uni-hamburg.de
- Facility for the analysis of chemical thermodynamics (F*A*C*T)A joint project between Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal and McGill University for chemical metallurgy thermodynamic information. Mostly covers inorganic compounds. Click on "Fact-Web" on the left to access content.
- Heats of hydrogenation: experimental and computational hydrogen thermochemistry of organic compounds (2006)ebook with some experimental data and references to the literature
- Thermochemistry DB for High-Temp Materials Synthesis (Sandia National Laboratories)Database is no longer available
Books
Books with thermochemistry data...
CODATA key values for thermodynamicsCall Number: QD504 .C62 1989 Reference - Taylor Family Digital LibraryThe world's first internationally agreed-upon values for the thermodynamic properties of 151 chemical substances.
Includes self-consistent enthalpies, entropies, and other constants as well as their uncertainties.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (print and electronic)Call Number: QD65 .H23 (latest ed.) Other editions at same call number, 6th floor, Taylor Family Digital LibraryISBN: 1439820775Thermochemistry, electrochemistry and kinetics.
Vapor pressure at various temperatures
CRC Handbook of Thermophysical and Thermochemical Data (1994)Call Number: Request from HDLISBN: 0849301971Thermodynamic properties of pure substances and mixtures; transport properties, including viscosity of gases and liquids, thermal conductivity of gases, liquids, and solids, and diffusion coefficients; thermophysical properties of common fluids, air, properties of liquid water, density of standard mean ocean water, steam tables.
Includes a 3.5" disk with a program that allows calculation of properties.
Equations for liquid-vapor (table 2.1.3), solid-vapor (Table 2.1.4) and solid-liquid curves(table 2.1.5), triple points (Table 2.1.2)- Critical stability constants v.1-v.6 (1974-1989)Call Number: Request v.1-v.5 from HDL; QD503 .M37 1974 v. 6
The same information is available as a program for download from http://www.nist.gov/srd/nist46.cfm. Note the information is no longer being updated. - Handbook of the thermodynamics of organic compounds (1987)Call Number: QD504 .S73 1987 Reference-Taylor Family Digital Library
- High temperature properties and decomposition of inorganic saltsCall Number: Varies. Click the title to see what is available
- International critical tables of numerical data, physics, chemistry and technologyCall Number: HDL, TFDL, and onlinePublication Date: 1926-1930
- JANAF thermochemical tables (1986, 3rd ed.)Data arranged by formula with an index to the tables at the front.
This is the second ed. plus its supplements, which are also available online: J. Phys. Chem. Ref. Data 3, 311 (1974)
J. Phys. Chem. Ref. Data 4, 1 (1975)
J. Phys. Chem. Ref. Data 7, 793 (1978)
J. Phys. Chem. Ref. Data 11, 695 (1982) 
Liquid-Liquid Equilibrium Data Collection by Call Number: QD503 .S67 1979 V.5 (TFDL Reference)ISBN: 3921567173Publication Date: 1979
Matheson gas data bookCall Number: Varies for different editions. Click title to see what is available. 1951 (2nd) and 1961 (3rd) eds. are available onlineISBN: 0071358544Publication Date: 1951, 1961, 1966, 1980, 2001
Metallurgical thermochemistry (several editions)Call Number: HDL- NBS tables of chemical thermodynamic properties : selected values for inorganic and C1 and C2 organic substances in SI unitsCall Number: Q199 .J682 1982 NO.2
- Physical and thermodynamic properties of aliphatic alcohols [1973]Call Number: Q199 .J682 1973 (HDL)
- Physical property data for the design engineer [1989]Call Number: TP200 .P49 1989
- Properties of materials at low temperature (Phase 1): a compendium [1961]Call Number: TA407 .U55 V.1 and V.2 (HDL)
- Selected data on mixtures. Ser. A. Thermodynamic properties of non-reacting binary systems of organic substances [1973-1992]Call Number: QD540 .S45 (HDL)Unfortunately, there is no cumulative index; each volume must be searched separately.
- Selected values of chemical thermodynamic properties by Publication Date: 1952This is also NBS Tech Note 270, sections 3-7. (Sections 1 and 2 have been superseded. )
- Solid-Liquid Equilibrium Data Collection by Call Number: QD503 .K53 1987 V.8 PT.1 (REF)ISBN: 3921567750Publication Date: 1987Liquid-Solid Systems, Organic Compounds, Two-Component Mixtures
- Thermochemical data of pure substances [1989]Call Number: QD511.8 .B37 1989 (Ref)
- Thermochemical properties of inorganic substances [1991, 1973]Call Number: QD511 .B37 1991 V.1 and V.2; QD511 .B37 1973 [HDL]
- Thermodynamic and transport properties of organic salts by Call Number: QD476 .T34 1980Publication Date: 1980
- Thermodynamic constants of inorganic and organic compounds (1970)Call Number: QD511 .K351 1970 [TFDL]
- Thermodynamic data for mineral technologyCall Number: TN23 .B85 No. 677 [Gallagher and Online]
- Thermodynamic values at low temperature for natural inorganic materials: an uncritical summary [1987]Call Number: QD511.8 .W66 1987 [Gallagher]
- Thermodynamics of alloys by Call Number: QD501 .W13 (HDL)Publication Date: 1952Some thermodynamic properties for some alloys.
- Thermodynamics of organic compounds in the gas state [1994]Call Number: QD504 .T476 1994 [1 TFDL - Ref]
Thermophysical properties of chemicals and hydrocarbons by ISBN: 0815515960- TRC thermodynamic tables, hydrocarbons [1985]Refer to the formula index in the last vol. Determine the properties covered. The key for the properties is at the bottom of the page. Determine the page number and then look this up in the appropriate 'alpha' volume.
- TRC thermodynamic tables, non-hydrocarbonsCall Number: [HDL]Publication Date: 1985Refer to the formula index in the last vol. Determine the properties covered. The key for the properties is at the bottom of the page. Determine the page number and then look this up in the appropriate 'alpha' volume.
- Vapor-liquid equilibrium data collectionCall Number: QD503 .V34 1977 V.1 [TFDL Reference]Publication Date: 1977Arranged by chemical formula. Each volume deals with a different system of substances. Use the publisher's list to find the relevant volume.
- Vapor-Liquid equilibria for mixtures of low boiling substances byCall Number: QD503 .V33 (REF)ISBN: 3921567386Publication Date: 1982Multi-Component Systems, Liquid-Liquid Systems, Organic Compounds, Two-Component Mixtures
The Yaws handbook of thermodynamic properties for hydrocarbons and chemicals (2006)Call Number: QD305 .H5 Y39 2006 [TFDL, and online]ISBN: 9781933762074
General Information
- Nano, Quantum & Statistical Mechanics & Thermodynamics Data & Property Calculation WebsitesA list of over 100 websites from the University of Illinois, Chicago Thermodynamics Research Laboratory site.
- Thermophysical properties of fluids: an introduction to their predictionTextbook. Appendix A has some properties of common compounds
Vapor-liquid equilibrium data bibliography by Publication Date: 1973
