Religious Studies Web Guide
Digital Images
Buddhist Texts Including the Legend of Phra Malai, with Illustrations of The Ten Birth Tales from World Digital Library (Library of Congress). Original at the British Library
Use tabs to link to open access images organized by Religion
Multi Religion - Images
- Artstor Digital Library - public collections
- CDRI: Digital resources for the study of religion - The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools - part of the ATLA Digital Library is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries. Includes manuscripts, postcards, woodcuts, coins, maps etc.
- Digital Public Library of America - over 18 million items from libraries, archives and museums
- Digital Scriptorium -" image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research"
- Encyclopedia Mythica Image gallery- do a search and then click "images" after you get the results.
- Getty Search Gateway - over 160,000 photographs, 100,000 Visual Material and 26,000 Vessels and includes over 99,000 open content images .
- Goodspeed Manuscript Collection (University of Chicago) - early Greek, Syriac, Ethiopic, Armenian, Arabic and Latin manuscripts from the 5th to 20 centuries
- Hill Monastic Manuscript Library - "resources for the study of manuscripts and currently features manuscript cultures from Europe, Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, and Southeast Asia. The site houses high-resolution images of manuscripts, many of them digitized"
- HOLLIS Images - Harvard Library's catalog of images from the various collections of Harvard University - can limit to public domain items only
- Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web- links to over 2,900 online exhibits. Can browse by exhibit or search by name, institution or subject terms
- Manuscript images from the Bodleian and Oxford College Libraries
- MAVCOR Material Objects Archives (Center for the Study of Material and Visual Cultures of Religion)
- New York Public Library Digital Library - over 700,000 items including images of prints, illuminated manuscripts, photographs, maps, moving images, sound recordings books , postcards etc.
- SOAS Digital Collections - photographs, maps, films, audio, manuscripts and other resources from the collection of SOAS (School of Oriental and Africa Studies) , University of London