Religious Studies Web Guide

Focused:

• Aesop's Proverbs in Israeli Literature - compiled by Meir Bar-Ilan
• Ancient Jewish Magic  - compiled by David Biali
• Ancient Mysticism: Hekhalot Literature - compiled by Meir Bar-Ilan
• Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Archival Resources on the History of Jewish Women in America
• Astrology and Judaism in Late Antiquity (Thesis Bibliography) - by Lester Ness
• Ben Sira - Annotated Bibliography 2016 - compiled by Jeremy Corley
• Bezalel Narkiss Index of Jewish Art
• Bibliography: By, For, and/or about Jewish Lesbian/Bisexual Women
• Bibliography covering the Agunah problem, Jewish marriage, Jewish divorce and related issues
• Bibliography of Khazar Studies -  compiled by Kevin Alan Brook - see especially section 6: Religious Practices and Influences
• Bibliography of Sexual and Domestic Violence in the Jewish Community (1999) - compiled by Marcia Cohn Spiegel. Revised 2004
• Bibliography of the Hebrew Book - Jewish literature printed in Hebrew
• Bibliography on Antisemitism - Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism
• Cairo Genizah Bibliography - bibliography of works on the Genizah in the collection at the Cambridge University Library
• Central and Eastern European Online Library -  Jewish Studies  - index to over 2600 books and articles about Judaism published in Eastern and Central Europe.  You need to create an account to view those titles that are available open access.
• Chinese Judaism Bibliography- compiled by Joseph Adler
• Christians and Jews in the Middle Ages: A Bibliography - compiled by Patrick Nugent, from The ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
• Compact Memory - collection of 100 important Jewish German journals and newspapers published between 1806 and 1938. Over 700,000 images of the pages.
• The Copper Scroll (3Q15)  - compiled by Meir Bar-Ilan
• Database for the Analysis of Anonymous and Pseudepigraphic Jewish Texts of Antiquity
• Dead Sea Scrolls Online Bibliography (Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls - comprehensive bibliography to the secondary literature on the Qumran community , early Christianity and second temple Judaism. Maintained by the Orion Center at the Hebrew University; updated weekly. Includes links to fulltext where available
• Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters - bibliography from the book "Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters"
• Ecology and Judaism bibliography - by Mark Jacobs - posted on The Forum on Religion and Ecology at Yale
• English Translations of the Aramaic Targums - compiled by Michael Marlowe
• Exorcism by Jews - compiled by Meir Bar-Ilan
• Holocaust Books - from remember.org A People's History of the Holocaust & Genocide
• Holocaust-Era Assets (US National Archives) See also guides to microfilm collections on art provenance and claims and Finding Aid
• Index to Commentaries on Rambam's Mishneh Torah (Halacha Brura and Birur Halacha Institute) - over 425,000 references
• Index of Articles on Ladino (Judeo-Spanish) Language - Foundation for the Advancement of Sephardic Studies and Culture
• Index to Yiddish Periodicals​
• Jewish Book Council - lists by subject
• Jewish Ethics - bibliography compiled from the Kampelman Collection on Jewish Ethics at the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University
• Jewish Intertestamental and Early Rabbinic Literature : An Annotated Bibliographic Resource by David Chapman and Andreas Kostenberger
• Jewish Law Articles: Examining Halacha, Jewish Issues and Secular Law - primary and secondary materials in English
• Jewish Magic Bibliography -  compiled by Alex Jassen and Scott Noegel
• Jewish magic in Antiquity - compiled by Meir Bar-Ilan
• Jewish Malayalam Select Bibliography
• Jewish Medicine/ Medicine in Antiquity
• Jewish Prayer - bibliography from Tzvee Zahavy, Studies in Jewish Prayer, Lanham, MD, 1990
• Jewish Sects during the Second Temple Period -   compiled by Meir Bar-Ilan - Sadducees, Karaites, Pharisees, Essenes and other Jewish sects
• Jewish Sexual Ethics Project- links to fulltext essays, articles and literature reviews as well as bibliographies: Jewish Feminist Thought, Modern/Contemporary History and Sociology, African/Asian/Middle Eastern Jewish Women, History, Anti-Semitism and Gender Stereotyping, Sexual and Domestic Violence, Family, Jewish Feminism and Women's Activism, Reproduction, Jewish Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgender Women, Ritual and Liturgy
• Jewish Women in the Bible and Antiquity
• Jewish Women's Voices, Past and Present
• Jews of Cuba - from Bibliography of Books and Articles in Latin American Jewish Studies 1991-1996 compiled by Judith Laikin Elkin
• Josephus Books and Articles on Josephus - from The Flavius Josephus Home Page edited by G. J. Goldberg
• Judaism resources from Diotema: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World - bibliography of works focussing on women
• Kabbalah/Jewish Mysticism - from Journal des Etudes de la Cabale
• Kabbalah - select bibliography of books on Kabbalah and Jewish mysticism compiled by Eliezer Segal
• Kabbalah - Don Karr's Bibliographic Surveys of English language works Merkabah Mysticism, Hekhalot Literature, Sefer Yetzirah, Early and Later Kabbalah , Zohar, Christian Cabala, Solomonic Magic
• Kabbalah in English: A Guide to English Language Resources for the Student of Traditional Rabbinic Kabbalah - compiled by Jeffrey Smith
• Kabbalah - Lurianic Kabbalah
• Medieval Jewish Women in History, Literature, Law and Art: A Bibliography - compiled by Cheryl Tallan 2006
• Metatron - compiled  by Meir Bar-Ilan
• Monsters and imaginary creatures in Jewish legend and lore  - compiled by Meir Bar-Ilan
• Music - Jewish Music - list of books, articles and recordings created by Zamir Chorale of Boston
• Music - Jewish Music WebCenter - see Academic Section for a variety of guides to research sources including For Your BookShelf: A Bibliography of Books on Jewish Music
• Music and the Holocaust (ORT)- extensive list of books and articles
• Music and the Holocaust (Zamir Chorale)- books, recordings and scores
• Rabbinic Genealogical Bibliography. See also Tutorial: how to locate Rabbinic Genealogy sources in Libraries and Archives
• Ritual and Ceremony in the Graeco-Roman World - compiled by K.C. Hanson -  includes section on Dead Sea Scrolls
• Second Temple Synagogues Bibliography - compiled by Donald D. Binder
• Society and Culture of Eretz Israel in the First Centuries CE  - compiled by Meir Bar-Ilan
• Targum - English Translations of the Aramaic Targums - compiled by Michael Marlowe
• Targum Bibliography - last updated 2004 - see Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon for current articles and books
• Targum Manuscript Search
• Tractate Rosh ha-Shana  - compiled by Meir Bar-Ilan
• Women and Judaism - see also  Women and Religion section
• Women and the Holocaust - from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum