Religious Studies Web Guide

Judaism - Images

The Bezalel Narkiss Index of Jewish Art - 19,830 images and 2668 objects for Jewish ritual, architecture, manuscripts, ritual objects and funerary art
British Library Hebrew Collections - 1300 have been digitized - use the British Library Digitised Manuscripts to locate these. See The Polonsky Foundation Catalogue of Digitised Hebrew Manuscripts for selected images of the Pentateuch, haggadahs, prayer books, Scroll of Esther held by the British Library.
Catalogue of Wall Paintings in Central and East European Synagogues (Centre for Jewish Art)
The Center for Jewish Art Collection - over 200,000 digital items
Diarna - geo-exhibits of over 1200 synagogues and other religious sites in the Middle East and North Africa
Digitized Manuscript Collection (National Library of Israel)
Historic Synagogues of Europe (Centre for Jewish Art)
Jewish Heritage from Europeana - images, blogs and digital books
Jewish Museum (New York) - select images from their collection
Jewish Women's Archive - Multimedia Gallery
Ketubbot - digital collection of over 4200 ketubbot from the National Library of Israel's collection
Qumran The Orion Virtual Qumran Tour
Second Temple Synagogues - an excellent site contains information on Second Temple Synagogues as well as an image gallery - compiled by Donald Binder
Ursula and Kurt Schubert Archives of Hebrew Illuminated Manuscripts (Centre for Jewish Art)
Visual Memory - historical photographs of Palestine-Israel
Yad Vashem Photo Archive