Skip to Main Content
Multi-Religion - Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Concise Dictionary of Religion by Irving Hexham - very good glossary to religious studies concepts and people.DRH: Database of Religious History - "First comprehensive online quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious cultural history"Encyclopedia of Life - good for articles on nature/science and religion (sacred plants, religious symbolism etc)Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained Encyclopedia Mythica - extensive guide to mythology, folklore and religion. Can browse areas of mythology such as African, Chinese, Celtic, Arthurian Legend, folktales through the "Jump to area" drop-down boxEncyclopedia of Religion and Ethics Encyclopedia of Religion and Society - edited by William H. Swatos, Jr.Index of Cults - compilation of information on cults prepared by the Watchman FellowshipInterdisciplinary Encyclopedia of Religion and Science - " edited by the Advanced School for Interdisciplinary Research (ADSIR), operating at the Pontifical University of the Holy Cross, Rome."International Encyclopedia of Religion and Science (Center for Theology and Natural Sciences)Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Internet History Sourcebooks Project - note sections for Christian Origins , Roman Church, Crusades , Papacy , Medieval Church , India , Islam, Judaism and Religious Traditions of East Asia Overview of World Religions Project New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge by Philip Schaff - 13 v. (from Classics Ethereal Library)Patheos Lenses - Information about each religion (current statistics, origins, history, beliefs, scriptures, ethics, ritual and practices) - allows side by side comparisons. See also their Library of World Religions - for detailed information on each religionPulotu: - Database of Pacific Religions - information on over 110 Austronesian culturesReligious Art - Christian, HIndu, Buddist and Islamic - brief overviewThe Skeptic's Dictionary Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Wissenschaftlich-Religionspadägogische Lexikon im Internet (WiReLex)
