Religious Studies Web Guide
Digital Text Collections
First Page of Sa'd'is Bustan from World Digital Library
This section contains links to historical and secondary open access e-text collections.
Use Menu options to link to collections for specific religions.
SEE ALSO:
Images - open access fragments of illuminated manuscripts and papyri
Multi-Religion Digital Text Collections
- Directory of Open Access Books - over 2400 academic peer reviewed books
- European History Primary Sources - index to collections worldwide - Religion section
- Forgotten Books - over 484,000 books - see Religion section - Can do analysis on word use in the texts in this collection
- Gallica - over 1 million texts - produced by the Bibliothèque nationale de France - over 9,000 dcouments in the religion section. Also includes selected volumes from Migne's Patrologia Graeca and Patrologia Latina
- Getty Research Portal - hundreds of works dealing with religion - focus of collection is art history
- GlobeTheoLib and GlobeEthicsLib - extensive digital library of books and journals on theology and on ethics (political, bioethics, legal, religious, media etc.) worldwide. Most of the identified books and journals articles are freely available. Produced by the World Council of Churches, this has extensive coverage for all religions
- Hathi Trust - digitized collections of works from major research institutions and libraries. Includes over 7 million titles of which over 5 million volumes are in the public domain - includes over 25,000 religious studies books
- Internet Archive - the open access text archive includes over 12 million freely downloadable texts. Includes over 100,000 works on religion
- Open Access Digital Theological Library - over 190,000 open access ebooks and 10,000,000 journal articles in religious studies
- Open Edition books - over 7000 French texts
- Pew Research Center Religion and Public Life - bioethics, gay marriage, death penalty, religion and politics, religion and public schools, religion and social welfare, religion and the law, religion and world affairs.
- Pluralism Project Reports
- Prolades (Latin American Socio-Religious Studies Program) - links to a variety of open access documents including overviews and chronologies
- Project Gutenberg - over 50,000 public domain texts
- Religion Commons - digital library of over 55,000 works
- Religion Online - more than 6,000 articles and chapters available full text
- Theological Commons - digital library of over 120,000 out of copyright books and periodicals on theology and religion, produced by Princeton Theological Seminary Library
- World Digital Library (Library of Congress) - over 19,000 items, including over 700 relating to religion
- Articles on Religion and Catholic Ethics (Markkula Center for Applied Ethics)
- Bibliotheca Augustana - collection of Greek, Latin, German, English, French, Italian, Spanish, Polish, Russian, Yiddish, Portuguese and Czech texts
- Biodiversity Heritage Library - open access books and articles on religion and science
- Cambridge Digital Library - See especially The Cairo Genizah Collection, Hebrew Manuscripts, Islamic Manuscripts, Christian Works, Sanskrit Manuscripts, Japanese Works
- Center for World Religions Diplomacy and Conflict Resolution (George Mason University) links to full text books, chapters, papers and interviews
- Dart Europe E-thesis portal
- Digi20 - over 4,000 German monographs in the humanities and social sciences published by Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, Wilhelm Fink / Ferdinand Schöningh and Otto Sagner
- DigiTheo - German theological documents from the 19th century
- Canadiana Online - full text of over 50,000 books and pamphlets documenting life in Canada to the early 20th century
- Early English Books Online - Text Creation Partnership - full text of over 25,000 English language texts from 1475-1661
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP) - 25,000 texts from 18th century including a number relevant to religious studies
- Evans Early American Imprint Collection - Text Creation Partnership - includes material published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries
- Faraday Institute for Science and Religion - Faraday Papers and over 600 multimedia talks and courses - providing introductions to topics in religion and science
- Folklore and mythology electronic texts
- Law and Religion- Strasbourg Consortium - Freedom of Conscience and Reason at the European Court of Human Rights - reports on cases and headlines - search documents
- Gifford Lectures - abstracts of lectures with some full text from this important lecture series dealing with religion science and philosophy
- Internet Modern History Sourcebook - 19th Century Religion / Religion Since 1945
- IntraText Digital Library - includes a number of religious texts (Christian, Hindu, Islamic)
- International Cooperation Initiative Online Books Page - if you are from a country with a GDP per capita substantially lower than than the average in USA and European Union you will have free access to these books
- Law and Religion- Strasbourg Consortium - Freedom of Conscience and Reason at the European Court of Human Rights - reports on cases and headlines - search documents
- Law and Religion - Religion - Weltanschauung - Recht
- Law and Religion - texts and secondary documents from 9 cases
- Making of America - 19th century primary sources, particularly strong for religion.
- On-Line Books Page - good index to texts on the internet - can browse by "religion" or can browse by Library of Congress Call numbers
- Online Articles About Sociology of Religion - full-text articles (Hartford Institute for Religion Research)
- Online Library of Liberty - includes texts by John Calvin, Jan Huss, Martin Luther, David Hume, Kalidsa
- OAPEN - freely accessible academic books with a focus on the humanities and social sciences - limited selection
- Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago - most of their publications are available open access - can search collection using the main search box on the top of the page
- Rand Reports - " RAND conducts research and provides analysis to address challenges that face the United States and the world." It includes many reports and documents on religion. Browse by subtopic, type of work and author
- Strasbourg Consortium - Freedom of Conscience and Religion at the European Court of Human Rights.
- TITUS - collection of Sanskrit, Pali, Hindi, Iranian, Anatolian, Tocharian, Armenian, Baltic, Slavonic, Germanic, Classical Greek, Latin, Celtic, Hebrew, Arabic, Syriac,Tamil and Chinese texts. Go to "Index" and select "Text Database"
- United States Commission on International Religious Freedom Annual Report (Current and past years) - See also U.S. Department of State annual Report to Congress on International Religious Freedom
- Vampires, Religion and Culture - collection of articles by Gordon J. Melton, Massimo Introvigne and others
- Women and Religion - articles, reports and links